Select Page

Board & Management

Organization Leadership

Leaders committed to igniting curiosity, connecting communities, and enchancing understanding of America’s role in maritime peace and prosperity.

“…from all I have seen and all I have heard, the IOWA is a ‘happy ship,’ and having served with the Navy for many years, I know–and you know– what that means…”
-President Franklin D. Roosevelt’s remarks on leaving the USS Iowa on 16 December, 1943.

Today, the USS Iowa is in the custody of the Pacific Battleship Center, an award-winning 501(c)3 non-profit founded in 2008 to ignite curiosity, connect communities, and enhance understanding of America’s role in maritime peace and prosperity.  Pacific Battleship Center’s family of brands include Battleship IOWA, National Museum of the Surface NavyFreedom of the SeasLA Fleet WeekCamp BattleshipVeteran’s West, and Vicky’s Doghouse Cafe.  

Members of our boards and our leadership are committed to inspiring global awareness of freedom of the seas.  They continue to guide the organization to new heights and milestones on its journey to raise global awareness of freedom of the seas.


National Leadership Council

Ambassador Terry Branstad

Amb. Terry Branstad

  • National Campaign Chair
  • Former Governor, State of Iowa
  • Former Ambassador to China (2017-2020)

Sen. Chuck Grassley


Rep. Nanette Diaz Barragán


Gov. Kim Reynolds


Amb. Robert C. O’Brien


Janice Hahn

L.A. County Supervisor

Tim McOsker

Councilmember L.A. CD15

ADM Vernon Clark

USN (Ret.)

ADM Philip Davidson

USN (Ret.)

ADM John C. Harvey, Jr.

USN (Ret.)

ADM James R. Hogg

USN (Ret.)

ADM Michelle Howard

USN (Ret.)

ADM Samuel J. Locklear

USN (Ret.)

ADM Henry H. Mauz, Jr.

USN (Ret.)

ADM Robert J. Natter

USN (Ret.)

ADM J. Paul Reason

USN (Ret.)

ADM James G. Stavridis

USN (Ret.)

ADM Henry Ulrich III

USN (Ret)

VADM Richard Hunt

USN (Ret.)

CAPT Tom Kelley

USN (Ret.), Medal of Honor

H. Delano Roosevelt

Chairman’s Flag Council

VADM Thomas Rowden

USN (Ret.)

RADM Jesse A. Wilson, Jr.

USN (Ret.)

Kelcey Brown

MidAmerican Energy

RADM Nevin Carr Jr.

USN (Ret.)

RDML Sandra Adams

USN (Ret.)

Jack Giarraputo

Hollywood Producer

RADM Scott Jerabek

USN (Ret.)

RDML Charles Brown

USN (Ret.)

Robert Nowakowski


Board of Directors

Shatynski Headshot

RADM Mike Shatynski,
USN (Ret.)

Tanya Acker

Attorney, Actress, and Media

Dan Kehl

Elite Casinos

Ross O’Brien

Treasurer & CFO; CPA

Rebecca Beach


Vanessa Lewis

CPA; Reporting Consultant

FLTCM JoAnn Ortloff

USN (Ret.); SNA

LCDR Ken Hagihara

USN (Ret.); Integrity Public Relations

Jeff Link

Link Strategies

E. Scott Palmer

Palmer, Hunter & Hall

Douglas Herman

The Strategy Group

Bruce DD Mac Rae


Jonathan Williams

President & CEO

Craig Johnson

Crail-Johnson Foundation

VADM John Morgan

USN (Ret.); Arleigh Burke Foundation

President’s Advisory Board

Bruce MacRae Headshot

Bruce D.D. Mac Rae

  • Bill Anderson
  • Larry Armstrong
  • Paul Carter
  • Olga Chavez
    Marathon Petroleum
  • Simon Conway
    Radio Host
  • Kip Cyprus
    Special Advisor
  • Mike Dowling
    Veterans Advocate
  • CAPT Roger C. Easton Jr.
    USN (Ret.)
    Special Advisor
    Easton Advisors LLC & USS ARLEIGH BURKE Association
  • John Ek
    Public Affairs
  • CAPT Bill Erickson
    USN (Ret.)
  • Kim Estes
    Actor and Maritime Expert
  • Amy Grat
    Education Professional
  • RADM G. E. Gneckow
    USN (Ret.)
    Commanding Officer
    USS IOWA (1983-1985)
  • Don Hall
    Hall Towing, Inc.
  • Jane Johnson
    Community Advocate
  • Nathan Jones
    Kids, Hand, and Minds
  • Sinan Kanatsiz
    Special Advisor
  • Patrick Kohler
    Databolic, Inc.
  • Josh LaFarga
    Laborer’s Union
  • Jeff Lamberti
    Special Advisor
  • Bobby MacDonald
    Community Leader
  • Russ Matthews
    Special Advisor
    Documentary Producer
  • CAPT Richard McKenna
    USN (Ret.)
    Community Leader
  • James Parker
  • Lars Reierson
  • Derrick Roselli
  • Kamin Samuel
    Transformation Coach
  • Tom Sauer
    Veterans Services
  • CDR Steve Shatynski
    USN (Ret.)
    Special Advisor
  • John Shultz
  • Matt Sodl
  • Arlo Sorenson
  • Joe Walsh
    Special Advisor
  • Gary Williams

LA Fleet Week
Founding Board

  • Jonathan Williams
  • Jeff Gorell
    Vice President
  • David P. Bender, Jr.
  • John McOsker
  • Doane Liu
  • RADM Mike Shatynski
    USN (ret.), Director
  • Stephanie Stone

Staff Leadership

Jonathan Williams

  • President & CEO

  • Navy Distinguished Public Service Award
  • Navy Community Ambassador
  • LinkedIn

Mike Getscher

David Canfield

  • VP & CIO

  • Liaison, Veterans Association

  • LinkedIn

Ross O’Brien

  • Treasurer & CFO
  • CPA
  • Partner; Servatius, O’Brien, & Fong LLP
  • LinkedIn
Kyle Aube headshot

Kyle Aube

Tiffany Ellerbeck photo

Tiffany Ellerbeck

  • Director of Public Programming

  • LinkedIn

Nui Valletta picture

Nui Valletta

Site developed by Wicked Code, Inc. and funded by The Edward E. & Marie L. Matthews Foundation •  Photos by Rick Stipa Photography
Other photos - US Navy Archives and National Archives

Board & Crew Portal